Second week into my new role at work, and I’m pleased to report it’s all been going really well. There was an extra surprise when my old Manager also left the team I had recently transferred from.

I’m not sure if this is the norm in the City at the moment, but there seems to be a lot of movement within the workplace. One benefit to this is that there are lots of leaving drinks and a great excuse to have a big night out with mates.

Working by Southwark Bridge is great, good selection of bars and the amazing Borough Market on our doorstep, however Middlesex Street by Bishopsgate was my destination of choice.

Marco Pierre’s steakhouse to be precise…

Now I admit that this isn’t somewhere I can go every week, however for the odd treat I really recommend it. I’m under no illusion that Marco was cooking that juicy 14oz Ribeye for me, although whoever prepared the steak, really did that piece of meat full justice. It was definitely one of the best I have had in a long time.

Food finished, and it felt rude not to continue the celebrations. A quick run through the rain and we arrived at my second favourite pub in the East. The Water Poet. I love the size of the place, and the different ‘vibes’ when walking through from the entrance through to the open back yard.

A cheeky couple followed in the Golden Heart (never one of my favourite bars), and then a final beer at The Star of Bethnal Green.

Most of my posts are a little less drunken, and will return to the norm, however I wanted to share my perfect Friday

Remember, to play hard you need to work hard

Leave a Reply

