I have always been a fan of horror movies, the mix of the unexpected, the gore, the chills that follow you on the dark walk home.

I have recently returned from a rare viewing of ‘Lets Scare Jessica To Death’ at the BFI, Southbank. Add to the mix and hour-long introduction and discussion by horror experts Kim Newman & Mark Kermode, and a great night is in the making.

I was first introduced to Kermode when I bought the Exorcist on VHS (which I later discovered he believes is the greatest movie ever made). He introduced the movie with some great analysis and theories surrounding the movie, since then I have always kept an eye on his reviews etc.

The movie itself was made in 1971 and is a fantastic film to watch, especially if you aren’t too familiar with the plot in advance. I am not going to give anything away, but the film really highlights how a psychological drama, focussing on paranoia and isolation within ones self can really disturb and creep out an audience.

To my right was a girl who had her knees up on the chair allowing her an opportunity to hide, to my right a man who twisted to his left so he avoid watching the screen more easily each time the unsettling beat starts again. I won’t say anymore on this, however I am confident that no one left that night disappointed.

I really believe nights like these are a great opportunity to learn more about the genre, I’m sure there are more of these events as well so keep your eyes peeled.

Not sure if Southbank is pushing the boundaries of what I call East, however as the borderline of how far I have travelled recently it counts for me.

1-2 (next week) another blog is coming to you

Leave a Reply

